CHS Business Students Earn First Place in DECA Competition

Students will move on to compete in the New Jersey DECA Leadership Conference.

Cranford High School Students impressed us once again with 44 DECA members advancing in the top of their business events at the Regional DECA Competition on Jan. 10.

This made them not only eligible to compete in the New Jersey DECA Leadership Conference in Cherry Hill, Feb. 27 to March 1, but also marked another milestone for the club, with half of the membership advancing.  

The DECA Program is aimed at helping students prepare for business careers. The program, which boasts 99 students of which 88 members competed, builds self-esteem, helps with leadership skills, and teaches students to practice community service. The Students are advised by Business Teachers Richard Goldstein and Donna Cathcart.

Of the 44 students, eight received first place, five received second place, and five received third place.  In addition, all students below placed in the top ten of their business specialties. During the competition, each student completed a one-hour written test focused on their area of interest — then read, prepared for, and executed two role-play scenarios.  

Business, marketing, and accounting professionals served as judges for more than 1,200 students attending the regional competition from across central New Jersey.  

Coming in first place were Caitlin Slattery, John Pijankowski, Peter Strotz, Kerry Wischusen, Jill Folger, Abigal Porter, Danny Buono, John Piassek. 

In second place were, Joseph Tobin, Rachael White, April Eisenhardt, Kelly Schoustra, Catherine Miller. Coming in third place were, Jack Nunziato, William Lenox, Colleen Hartnett, Nicole Lamsis, Samuel Grossman.

These are students who came in the top 10 of their events.   Annie Bryant, Victoria Herlocker, Alyssa Espuga, Joseph Bringuier, Matthew Mustilo, Lauren Iauruzio, Joseph Barlik, Katie Waldner, Maeve Hoey, Allison Verilli, Thomas Feeney, Kristen Brito, Sarah Jacobus, Matthew Wise, Carley Quirin, Manuel Garcia, Natalie Salinardo, John Doran, Zachary Fried, Kyle LaFronz, Adam Soloman,  Vincent Papandrea, James Campbell, John Devoti, Kyle Mallon, Jillian Sobocinski.

Congratulations to all students on a job well done!


--Richard Goldstein


More »
Got a question? Something on your mind? Talk to your community, directly.
Note Article
Just a short thought to get the word out quickly about anything in your neighborhood.
Share something with your neighbors.What's on your mind?What's on your mind?Make an announcement, speak your mind, or sell somethingPost something
See more »